Epstein announces autumn/winter season

THE Epstein Theatre has announced its autumn/winter 2018 season with a jam-packed programme taking audiences through until the New Year.

Highlights include the sharp, acerbic wit of comedian Tom Allen who, due to demand, has now added an extra date on Thu 18 Oct after his Thu 6 Sep performance sold out.

Considered one of the most influential plays of its generation, hard-hitting and gritty drama A Taste Of Honey from Tue 9 – Sat 13 Oct in what marks 60 years since its premiere

And Liverpool’s own Gary Edward Jones presents the brand-new show Something About Simon, which makes its premiere on Tue 6 and Wed 7 Nov; an extraordinary insight celebrating the life and music of renowned singer-songwriter Paul Simon.

Live music has a strong presence throughout the season with something to suit all tastes.

There are tributes to some of the best-selling artists from across the globe starting with The Jersey Beats taking audiences through all the biggest hits of The Four Seasons on Thu 13 Sep. Pay homage to Steely Dan on Sat 15 Sep with Nearly Dan: The Spirit and Sound of Steely Dan.

The music tributes continue on Sat 29 Sep with a live performance of The Who’s smash hit concept album, Quadrophenia; and then celebrate 25 years of the UK’s number one boy band with The Take That Experience on Sun 7 Oct.

The music of some of Britain’s greatest progressive and glam rock artists will be celebrated on the Epstein stage; Ultimate Bowie a salute to David Bowie on Fri 19 Oct, Darkside – The Pink Floyd Show on Sat 3 Nov and T.Rextasy showcase the hits of Marc Bolan and T.Rex on Fri 23 Nov.

Then it’s music from across the pond with Buddy Holly Lives (Fri 16 Nov); Talon: The Best of The Eagles (Wed 28 Nov); Rhinestone Cowboy – The Glen Campbell Story (Thu 29 Nov); and The Spirit of Elvis on Fri 30 Nov.

Returning to the Epstein for his third show in 12 months, Jamie Somers pays tribute to the world’s biggest stars of song in his hit show Legends of Music on Sun 25 Nov.

There are also a host of original artists making a date with the Epstein during the Autumn.

The 9-piece male acapella group Straight No Chaser perform on Mon 24 Sep. One of the most popular and exciting live rhythm and blues acts in the world, Dr. Feelgood will be in town on Sat 20 Oct, and don’t miss An Irish Hooley on Sun 28 Oct featuring Ryan Ireland and starring Jimmy Cricket.

Expect fast-paced medleys and mind-bending mashups when the multi-award-winning British vocal group Sons of Pitches come to the Epstein on Mon 29 Oct as part of their new UK tour; and Glenn Tilbrook presents his solo show The Voice and Face of Squeeze on Tue 20 Nov.

Prepare to have your funny bone bumped and your ribs well and truly tickled with a top season of comedy talent that gets underway with Our Rita’s on Sun 16 Nov. The confirmed line-up includes Matt Richardson, Stephen Bailey, Robert White, Mrs Barbara Nice, and Lindsey Santoro; forming part of this year’s Liverpool Comedy Festival.

Double Edinburgh Comedy Award Nominee, Nish Kumar presents his brand-new show, It’s In Your Nature To Destroy Yourselves on Sun 23 Sep; and then the winner of this year’s funniest joke at Edinburgh Fringe, Adam Rowe films his second, brand-new hour-long comedy special Undeniable on Thu 27 and Fri 28 Sep.

Internationally acclaimed funnyman Jimeoin presents an evening of world-class comedy stand up on Wed 17 Oct in his new show, Result! Two of Made in Chelsea’s favourite stars Jamie Laing and Francis Boulle tread the boards with their live, laugh-a-minute extravaganza Private Parts on Mon 22 Oct; stand-up comedian and TV stalwart Phill Jupitus drags laughs out of the chaos of his own life and the uncertain world that surrounds it in Juplicity on Tue 30 Oct.

The comedy continues on Thu 8 Nov when Liverpool comedian, viral blogger and bestselling author Sam Avery delves in to the chaotic world of parenthood with The Learner Parent; then join Elis James and John Robins on Tue 13 Nov as they perform a live reading of their debut book The Holy Vible.

Rich Hall brings his critically acclaimed new show Hoedown on Thu 15 Nov and bringing the comedy offerings to a riotous climax is stand up legend, Rob Newman who attempts to piece together a philosophy for our troubled times by sifting through 3000 years of thought in Total Eclipse of Descartes on Thu 22 Nov.

Professional mountaineer Simon Yates will give audiences an incredible insight in to his tireless journey that nearly cost him his life in My Mountain Life on Fri 14 Sep.

Enjoy an evening of comedy, song and entertainment on Fri 21 Sep as Ricky Tomlinson cordially invites audiences to join him in celebrating his 79th birthday in Ricky Tomlinson: 79 Not Out.

Award-winning world-renowned psychic Sally Morgan brings her 10 Year Anniversary Tour to Epstein audiences on Tue 25 Sep.

Musical theatre lovers will want to catch Brothers Beyond on Sun 30 Sep, a tribute show featuring some of the best-known songs from all the biggest West End musicals including Les Miserables, Jesus Christ Superstar, Mamma Mia, Miss Saigon, and more.

The entertainment continues on Thu 1 Nov when Britain’s number one cabaret show The Ladyboys of Bangkok present spectacular costumes, choreography, and hilarious comedy in their new Wonder Women show. Ru Paul’s Drag race favourite Jinkx Monsson appears on Wed 21 Nov with lyrical genius Major Scales in their new tour The Ginger Snapped – a witty, biting look at the dark side of Drag fame.

See Dickens’ Oliver Twist in a new light on Mon 12 Nov when Avant Garde Dance Company present Fagin’s Twist the untold story of a notorious and complex villain told through their unmatched contemporary hip hop style.

Then on Mon 26 Nov catch up with the nations favourite rag-and-bone men with Christmas with Steptoe and Son, featuring more hilarious adaptations from this classic comedy.

The Epstein Theatre also open their stage doors to the stars of tomorrow with a celebration of the finest local youth talent throughout the season.

Elite Street Dance Company present Time To Shine, a showscase of the talents of their students on Fri 5 Oct; The Heath Perform and LIPA 4:19 Theatre Company return with Jesus Christ Superstar from Thu 25 – Sat 27 Oct.

LHK Youth Theatre are back as they get ready to take audiences to downtown New York in the tale of gangster warfare when they present Bugsy Malone on Sat 17 and Sun 18 Nov.

Young audiences are well catered for in the theatre’s autumn,winter programme.

Scamp Theatre present an adaptation of Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler’s Stick Man, the award-winning production comes to The Epstein on Sat 6 Oct; and Helen Stephen’s magical book How To Hide A Lion comes to life on Sun 14 Oct.

The family fun continues on Tue 16 and Wed 17 Oct as Selladoor Family present Guess How Much I Love You the playful story of Little & Big Nutbrown Hare in a magical show with puppets, live music and interactive play.

The season comes to an end when LHK Productions present Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs from Fri 7 Dec – Wed 2 Jan.

To book tickets call 0844 888 4411* or go online at www.epsteinliverpool.co.uk * or in person at The Epstein Theatre Box Office from 12pm – 6pm Monday – Saturday.

*Subject to booking fee. All prices include a £1 per ticket venue restoration levy