Power Women shortlist announced

THE Northern Power Women announced the shortlist for one of the most prestigious awards in the North of England. 
The awards showcase role models and celebrate the many different ways women and men contribute to a thriving Northern Powerhouse.

In its fourth year the awards attracted more than 900 nominations across 10 award categories which cover areas such as Transformational Leader of the Year to Innovation Award, which was introduced last year to showcase the creativity and original thinking that comes from the North.

The nominations were shortlisted and assessed by 60 judges ranging from independent business owners to senior executives from large multi-national organisation such as Clare Burles, Beccy Barr, Jacqueline de Rojas CBE, Mike Blackburn OBE, Chris Maguire and Helen Pidd.

Carla Stockton Jones, Director, Sky UK said “I enjoyed judging and was amazed at the amount and quality of work that had been put into the submissions both written and video. It was great to be able to see the amazing work that women in the North are putting in to making sure that women are represented across all industries, championed and recognised formally. Everyone who took part has much to be proud of.”

Simone Roche MBE, founder of Northern Power Women said: “The number of nominations we received this year demonstrates the outstanding talent we have in the North of England. It was an extremely tough job for our judges and I didn’t envy them having to make the decisions.
“Huge congratulations to our shortlisted nominees, I’m looking forward to celebrating with them all in March at the ceremony!”

Manchester Airports Group, one of the largest employers in the North and a key driver behind the Northern Powerhouse, will be supporting the awards, which will be taking place on 18 March, following their sponsorship announcement earlier last year.

The 2019 Norther Power Women Shortlist


Jasvinder Sanghera CBE – Campaigner/Author, Karma Nirvan

Joeli Brearley – Founder and Director, Pregnant Then Screwed

Mike Perls – CEO, MC2

Kelly Mattison – Co-Director, HEART domestic violence prevention CIC

Lucy Dowley – Wholesale Strategy Manager, United Utilities

Shelley Alexander – Lead for Diversity and Women’s Sport, BBC Sport

Stacey Copeland – Professional Boxer, Pave the Way

Nicola Haigh – Schools and Communities Manager, Storyhouse


Serena Johnson – Director, Conscious Youth C.I.C

Rebecca Lister – UK and European Public Affairs Manager, SSE

Jayne Hynes – Managing Director, Kiddyum

Emma Craig – Founder and Director, Prosperity Private Wealth Ltd

Elicia Curtis – Project Manager, Reign

Dr Idalia Dawidowska – CEO, Renephra Ltd.

Susannah Penney – Consultant Head and Neck Surgeon/Assistant Medical Director

Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust/Greater Manchester Cancer

Jennifer Powell – Solicitor, Weightmans LLP


Carol Ann Whitehead – Managing Director, The Zebra Partnership

Kirsten Mitchell – Founder, Spoons

Evelyn King – Supported Lodgings Provider, Kirklees Local Authority

Kate Headley – Director, The Clear Company

Pat Shea Halson – Psychological Trauma Counsellor, Centre for Personal Development

Sadia Akram – Programme Director, FODIP

Brenda McLeish – CEO, Learning Curve Group


Steph Stephenson – Stephensons Dairy Limited

Irene Afful – Founder and Director, Ametrine Enterprise Solutions Coaching & Consultancy

Dr Helen Woolnough – Research Fellow, The Sylvia Pankhurst Gender and Diversity Research Centre MMU

CHI Public Engagement Team

MMB Magazine

The Inspiring Leaders Network/Equilibrium

Lucy Dowley – Wholesale Strategy Manager, United Utilities

Women in Nuclear, Cumbria (part of the Nuclear Institute)


Elizabeth Vega – Group CEO, Informed Solutions

Gill Hodgson – President, Flowers From The Farm Ltd

Kimberley Waldron – Managing Director and Co-Founder, SkyParlour

Rachael Dunseath – Founder, Myroo

Caroline Stevenson – Founder, Foodinate

Katie Kenwright – Co-Founder, Signature Living

Sally Fielding – Founder and Director, Sally’s Cottages

Rhian Kempadoo-Millar – Director and Designer, Kempadoo Millar British Headwear


Gill Hodgson – President, Flowers From The Farm Ltd

Jacquie Johnston-Lynch – Head of Service/UK Director, Tom Harrison House/Clearmind

Amanda McKay – Quality Director Major Projects, Balfour Beatty

Elizabeth Clark – CEO and Founder, Dream Agility

Haley Farrell – Director and Head of Family Law, Broudie Jackson Canter

Jamie Callahan – Professor of Leadership and HRD, Northumbria University

Alison Shaw – Visiting Professor, University of Newcastle

Clare Briscall – Planning Director, Planning Express


Emma Carey – Managing Partner, MSB

Alison Lobb – Managing Partner, Morecrofts LLP

Adrienne Kelbie – CEO, Office for Nuclear Regulation

Sue Emms – Principal, BDP

Emma Degg – CEO, North West Business Leadership Team

Vicky Williams – CEO, Emerald Publishing

Dr Liz Mear – CEO, The Innovation Agency

Nik White – Managing Partner, Brabners LLP


Cooperative Innovations



Boo Coaching and Consulting Limited


Construction Q

Prima Uno Ltd

The Northern Health Science Alliance


Auto Trader

Direct Rail Services

Emerald Publishing

Mediacom North

ThoughtWorks UK



Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Network Rail – LNW Route



Sage UK Ltd

TransPennine Express

Travel Counsellors

University of Bradford

Wigan Council