Saturday, June 22, 2024

Top 5 This Week

Related Posts

National recognition for Aintree Hospital’s support for new starters

THE support offered to new nurses at Aintree University Hospital has seen the Trust shortlisted for a Nursing Times award.

Aintree has been named as a finalist in the Preceptorship of the Year category, for the first Nursing Times Workforce Summit and Awards.

A preceptorship is a transitional period for newly registered practitioners, allowing them to develop their confidence, skills, values and behaviours with the help of an existing member of staff (a “preceptor”).

Aintree’s Education and Learning team, together with senior nursing colleagues, have introduced a 12 month multi-professional programme, which provides staff with extensive training and support in clinical and non-clinical areas.

In the space of a year, the scheme has helped increased retention of staff nurses by more than 20% and helped improve recruitment figures.

Debbie Price, Multi Professional Quality Assurance Manager at Aintree, said: “The programme has had a really positive impact on the hospital. The benefits of the scheme are wide reaching. Colleagues are provided with ongoing support for their professional development, the opportunity to reflect on experiences and time to develop relationships with colleagues across the hospital.”

Aintree trains more than 200 nursing students at one time and believes its programme provides a solid platform where the future NHS workforce can thrive.

Dianne Brown, Chief Nurse at Aintree, said: “The Education and Learning team is a credit to the Trust. Their programme is giving our nurses the support they need to flourish in what can sometimes be a challenging time in their career. Whatever the outcome, our team should already feel like winners – I am incredibly proud of them all.”

Aintree is up against hospitals from across the country and is the only Acute Trust in Merseyside to be shortlisted for a Nursing Times awards. The winner of the Preceptorship of the Year will be announced on Thursday 4 October.

A full list of finalists and more information can be found at:


Popular Articles