Cleaner Diane Is The Pride Of Walton

The Walton Centre Staff Party.
THE amazing achievements of staff at The Walton Centre have been celebrated at the Walton’s Winter Wonderland Staff Awards.The awards ceremony, which is held every year, awards staff at the hospital in nine different categories including Patient Experience and for Improving Quality.The final award, The Pride of Walton, is decided on by the audience on the night and chosen out of all the category winners, with this year’s award going to ISS cleaner Diane Boyle.Diane, who is a cleaner in the Radiology Department, was delighted to pick up the top award after receiving the most votes.She said: “In February I will have worked at The Walton Centre for 45 years. I came over from the old hospital in Walton.“It feels absolutely fantastic to win. I just can’t believe it.”Diane said she has seen many changes during her four-and-half decades of service, adding: “The hospital is much bigger now and far more modern.”Diane received several nominations which led to her winning her category ‘The ISS Award’.One nominee said that Diane takes ‘immense pride’ in ensuring that Radiology is kept clean, but also mentioned her supportive nature, her high standard of work and dedication to The Walton Centre. The nominations said she was an asset to the Radiology department.The Staff Awards ceremony is an opportunity to thank staff and let them know how much their dedication is valued by the Trust and by the patients themselves.This year’s awards opened up to nominations from patients, visitors and the public for the first time.Chief Executive Chris Harrop said: “The Staff Awards event is one of the highlights of our year. We always try to make sure our staff know how much we appreciate the effort they put in every day. They go above and beyond. The Awards is an extension of this. They deserve this moment to sit back and really acknowledge their amazing work.”This year’s awards saw over 235 entries received across nine categories.LIST OF AWARD WINNERSPatient Experience AwardSara Lawton, Accommodation and Patient Experience OfficerSara was awarded for showing compassion in supporting patients and their families.Improving Quality AwardKerry Mutch, Neuromyelitis Optica Nurse PractitionerKerry, who is the first NMO nurse in the world, was recognised for her outstanding dedication to her work.Best Contribution to Learning AwardHelen Jackson and Joe Towell, Nurse Revalidation TeamThese staff members were rewarded for their work supporting nurses through the revalidation process.Bright Ideas Research AwardSuzanne Simpson, Occupational TherapistSuzanne was awarded for her dedication to research, having invented a new screening tool for patients.The ISS AwardDiane Boyle, Domestic AssistantDiane was recognised for more than 45 years of service and her ‘can-do’ approach to workBest Support Team AwardThe Neuroscience LaboratoriesThe team was awarded UKAS accreditation – a quality mark which is internally recognised.Employee of the Year AwardLee Smith, Staff Nurse, Cairns WardLee was recognised for his caring manner and positive attitude.Team of the YearTherapies TeamThe team was awarded for their incredible enthusiasm in their approach to patient care.Good Catch AwardJoanne Sloane, Staff Nurse, CRUJoanne helped two patients in difficulty, deservedly earning her the Good Catch Award.