Young And Junior Lord Mayors Sworn In

A GROUP of Liverpool’s young people have sampled a taste of civic life as they were officially sworn in as Junior and Young Lord Mayors at the Town Hall today (2 Nov).They are made up of 22 young people from primary, secondary and special schools in the city.Each young person will spend a month shadowing Lord Mayor, Councillor Roz Gladden, at suitable events such as Remembrance Sunday, Civic Service, Freedom of the City celebrations through pensioners’ parties and school assemblies.It is the seventh time the scheme has been run, and all of the candidates had to give a speech explaining how they would promote the positive profile of the city of Liverpool and that of children and young people in the cityLord Mayor, Councillor Roz Gladden, said: “This is a great opportunity for our young people to become involved in civic events, find out what is happening in their city and see how democracy works.”“I am delighted that so many of our young people have shown an interest in civic life and will be more than happy to have them assisting me at events during my next few months as Lord Mayor.“I am sure they will do a great job representing the young people of Liverpool over the coming year.”The pupils and the schools they attend are:YOUNG LORD MAYORSRuby Bains – St Hilda’s High SchoolAnton Bibby – Calderstones Science CollegeEllen Boyland – St Hilda’s High SchoolEva Carroll – Notre Dame CollegeAlex Dunn – Broughton Hall High SchoolHarry Georiou – Sandfield Park SchoolAsal Hajimohamedi – Holly Lodge Girls’ CollegeJanani Murugesh – Alder Hey Hospital Youth ForumLeah Russell – Clarence High SchoolMorgan Soul – Bank View SchoolAbhijith Subramanian – Calderstones Science CollegePatrick Clarke – SFX CollegeJUNIOR LORD MAYORSAshli Ashcroft – Kirkdale St Lawrence Primary SchoolOlivia Cranney – Arnot St Mary Primary SchoolMia Ferguson – Smithdown Primary SchoolIsabelle Fitzgerald – Middlefield Primary SchoolFreddie Hall – Longmoor Primary SchoolAzrah Ismail – Windsor Primary SchoolFinlay Kelleher – St Anne’s Stanley Primary SchoolScott Leath – Broadgreen Primary SchoolHolly Mallon – St Michael in the Hamlet Primary SchoolBarry Sheen – Holy Name Primary SchoolEva-Elizabeth Wood – Alder Hey Hospital Youth ForumZac Wilde – Liverpool College