Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Top 5 This Week

Related Posts

Liverpool Schools Shine At Educate Awards

ON Friday 20 November, 500 guests gathered for the Educate Awards ceremony held at the Liverpool Anglican Cathedral.

The awards, sponsored by Connex Education, is now in its fourth year and celebrate the inspiring work that goes on inside and outside the school gates.

Gateacre School won two awards on the evening for its remarkable success of The BIG Little Library attraction. The BIG Little Library is a pop-up library held in Belle Vale Shopping Centre and is a place where the community can share their love of reading.

The Community Partnership and WOW Recognition awards were presented to Gateacre School for its library project as the judges noted that it was an excellent and detailed submission and a project which has inspired and enthused students and teachers. The project got the whole community talking, and reading.

Calderstones School won the Career Aspiration award for its varied career options which span the whole range, from apprenticeships to Oxbridge.

The Belvedere Academy, who performed two numbers on the evening, won the Outstanding Arts in a Secondary School award for its production of Oliver.

Liverpool Life Sciences UTC won the Eco Project of the Year award for its Aquaponics project which expanded the students’ scientific knowledge while providing the opportunity for them to engage in a unique eco activity.

St Cecilia’s Catholic Junior School in Tuebrook, won the Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Primary School award. Sport has been revolutionised with the completion of the school’s very own ‘Anfield, Goodison and Olympic Stadium’ and the huge commitment and drive by staff has ensured the school’s sport provision is now outstanding.

The Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Secondary School was awarded to St Margaret’s Church of England Academy for its diverse sports offerings which appeal to pupils of all different abilities and interest. The school has a strong commitment to sport within the curriculum as well as a new and highly innovative approach in broadcasting its sporting news via social media channels.

Lastly, Leamington Community Primary School won the Communication award on the evening. The school, in one of the most deprived communities in the UK, has transformed its communication over the last year.

Liverpool actor Neil Fitzmaurice hosted the ceremony, while guests were treated to special performances by schools shortlisted for the outstanding arts awards.

The Belvedere Academy Chamber Choir opened proceedings, while pupils from Holly Lodge Girls’ College performed a scene from its production of ‘Blowin a Gale’. Next, the talented Darci Shaw from The Belvedere Academy sang ‘Where is Love’ from its 2014/15 production of Oliver.

Lastly, Andrew Woolcock from Archbishop Temple School entertained guests on the marimba, playing ‘Land’ by Takatsuga Maramatsu.

On the night, 19 awards were handed out to schools in the Liverpool City Region, Lancashire and Cheshire. A great variety of projects and skills were represented, from entrepreneurial awareness, dazzling stage performances, creative literacy initiatives to inspiring community partnerships.

Kim O’Brien, founder of the Educate Awards, said: “Every year the judges and I are blown away by the school’s entries and this year was no exception. It’s fantastic to award so many hard working schools and teachers who create such an engaging learning environment.

“Congratulations to all the winners and shortlisted schools, and thank you to each and every school that submitted an entry this year.”

The winners were chosen by a panel of judges which this year included football icon Robbie Fowler; Radio City breakfast host Leanne Campbell; Olympian and managing director of Raise The Bar, Steve Smith; Councillor Gary Millar, Liverpool’s cabinet member for business, enterprise and investment; Chris Walker, regional managing editor of Trinity Mirror North West and North Wales; Lesley Martin-Wright, chief executive of Knowsley Chamber; Mark Beedles, managing director of Connex Education; Fiona Barnet, director of The Foundry Agency; Andrew Pimbley of Claremont Farm and Wirral’s Farm Feast; and the education team at the respected Everyman and Playhouse Theatres.

List of award winners

Most Inspirational Primary School

Winner: Halewood C of E Primary School

Runner up: Eldon Primary School

Most Inspirational Secondary School

Winner: Wellfield High School

Runner up: Clare Mount Specialist Sports College

Community Partnership Award

Winner: Gateacre School

Runner up: Bishop David Sheppard CE Primary

Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Primary School

Winner: Saint Cecilia’s Catholic Junior School

Runner up:  Billinge St Aidan’s C of E Primary School

Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Secondary School

Winner: St Margaret’s Church of England Academy

Runner up: Rainford High Technology College

Eco Project of the Year

Winner: Liverpool Life Sciences UTC

Runner up: Cowley International College

The Communication Award

Winner: Leamington Community Primary School

Runner up: Whitefield Primary School

Teacher of the Year

Winner: Peter Fearon, Bebington High Sports College

Runner up: Beth Harris, Archbishop Temple School

Spirit of Enterprise Award

Winner: Rainford C E Primary

Runner up: Birkdale High

Innovative and Creative Literacy Award

Winner: The District CE Primary School

Runner up: Whitefield Primary

SEND Provision Award

Winner: The Observatory School

Runner up: Springwood Heath Primary School

Science Project of the Year

Winner: Bishop David Sheppard CE Primary

Runner up: Liverpool Life Sciences UTC

Outstanding Arts in a Primary School

Winner: Netherton Moss Primary School

Runner up: Faith Primary School in partnership with In Harmony Liverpool

Outstanding Arts in a Secondary School

Winner: The Belvedere Academy

Runner up: Holly Lodge Girls’ College

Career Aspiration Award

Winner: Calderstones School

Runner up: Bebington High School Farm at Bebington High School Sports College

Outstanding Teaching of Life Skills

Winner: Archbishop Temple School

Runner up: North Liverpool Academy

Leadership Team of the Year

Winner: Bishop David Sheppard CE Primary School

Joint runner up: Formby High School and Kilgarth School

Innovation in Education Award

Winner: Flakefleet School

Runner up: Archbishop Blanch C E High School

WOW Recognition Award

Winner: Gateacre School

Runner up: Netherton Moss Primary School

Popular Articles